Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: The latest Innovation in Bulk Storage Technologies (Free session)

February 1, 2018 @ 7:00 am - 7:00 pm

Time:
07:00 AM
  
To:
07:00 PM
Date:
Feb 01, 2018
Location:
Online

As part of ATA Insights’ Skills Development Program for Renewable Energy Professionals, a special webinar focused on innovative storage will take place the 1st of February. This webinar addresses decision makers in utilities, grid operators, and contracting companies for infrastructure.

The webinar The latest innovation in bulk storage technologies will be held in two different sessions to cover different time zones. Sign up here: http://bit.ly/2qYsH7t

 

Webinar: The latest innovation in bulk storage technologies (1st Feb 2018)

One of the largest challenges grid operators and utilities face is to continue providing reliability and firmness when ever larger amounts of intermittent renewable power are being added to the grid network.

Bulk storage technologies – with the ability to discharge quickly for 8+ hours – have lined up to be part of the solution for grids. However, they vary significantly in terms of capital and operational costs, life-cycle and discharge times. This webinar compares different technologies available for long term, bulk energy storage for grids and analyzes the novel approach of Gravity Storage to resolve this challenge.

  • Understand why investing in long-term bulk energy storage is key to guaranteeing firmness and grid reliability as more intermittent renewables are connected to the grid
  • Compare the technology and Levelized Costs of Storage (LCOS) for pumped hydro, compressed air, lithium-ion and sodium-sulfur battery storage, and gravity storage
  • Analyze ´Gravity Storage’, an innovation similar to pumped hydro with 8h+ bulk storage, using a gravitational based process which is suitable for areas of low or no elevation.

Session 1: Asia-Pac & MENA at 10am GST / 15pm JST / 17pm AEDT / 7am CET

Session 2: Europe & Americas at 8am PST/ 11am EST / 5pm GMT / 6pm CET

Sign up for your preferred session here.

Both sessions will be led by storage experts like the Eduard Heindl (managing partner) and Robert Werner (managing director) from Gravity Storage; Oliver Schmidt (research assistant) from Imperial College; and Grant Greatrex, senior advisor in renewable energy and telecommunications at MaC Group.

 

 

 

Details

Date:
February 1, 2018
Time:
7:00 am - 7:00 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Online